Graduate Students

Graduate Students

LARC Graduate Students

                                          Contact Information Research Focus
Filler Picture

Lillian Austin

laustin4@g.umd.edu

 
Picture of Daniel Bentley

Daniel Bentley

BS, Plant Science / Urban Forestry, University of Maryland

dbentle5@umd.edu

As a lifelong Maryland resident, Daniel is acutely aware of the unique ecosystem at work in the Chesapeake Bay area. Years spent fishing, camping, and hiking the forests of Maryland have fostered his curiosity for these natural environments. His plant science background enables him to see the intricate connections between these ecosystems and the humans who call this state home. Daniel’s passion for developing a thriving urban tree canopy has led him to his graduate studies in the Landscape Architecture Program. He hopes to use his tools and knowledge to improve the future urban tree environment in the Mid-Atlantic and abroad.

Filler Picture

Patrick Boyle

pboyle1@g.umd.edu

 

Photo of Stephanie Cavanaugh

 

Stephanie Cavanaugh

Clemson University

cavanasj@umd.edu

  • Community input 

  • Psychology of green spaces and their effect on people

Caitlin Garlow

Isabel Cedeno

isabelc@umd.edu 

 
Mary Christensen

Mary Christensen

Brigham Young University

mchrist5@umd.edu

  • Community engagement

  • Participatory design

  • The role of biophilia in individual and community health and well-being

  • Exploring issues of access to nature for people of all abilities and ages

  • Nature-based interventions
    Curriculum development for community landscape education

Filler Picture

Spencer Craig

scraig@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Brandt Dirmeyer

bcdirm@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Azadeh Esmaeili

aesmaeil@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Caitlin Garlow

cgarlow@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Felix Hernandez

feh@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Lauren Hudson

lhudson4@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Eve Josar

BA, Wayne State University

evejosar@umd.edu

 
Photo of Elliot Kenney

Elliott Kenney

Bard College   

ekenney9@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Erin Kremer

ekremer@g.umd.edu

 
Image of Katherine McCormick

Katherine Hope McCormick

BS, Landscape Management, Brigham Young University

Minors in Environmental Science and Business Management

khm@umd.edu

Katie McCormick comes to the field of landscape architecture through careful preparation and with the intent of using her skills to contribute to positive change. Her interests include stormwater management, environmental sustainability, and urban design. Her studies at BYU encompassed plant science, horticulture, landscape design, and business management. She has spent the last three years working for a high-end residential landscape firm in Bethesda, Maryland. She loves her job, her colleagues, and her clients, using the landscape as her canvas. Katie is a life-long learner of languages and music. When not tending to one of her client’s gardens, you can find her dabbling in her own garden or spending time in nature.

Filler Picture

Benjamin Morrison

ekremer@g.umd.edu

 
Image of Stephanie Mathais

Stephanie Pully

BS, Environmental Science, UMBC 2012

pully@umd.edu

Stephanie Pully is the State Coordinator for the University of Maryland Extension Master Gardener Program. She has spent many years in the restoration and environmental outreach field working as a Conservation Technician for the National Aquarium’s Field Conservation team. Stephanie enjoys working and learning outdoors and has particular interest in native plants and conservation landscaping. Her interest in landscape architecture stems from a family history in the field as well as a love for public gardens and providing access to beautiful green spaces for all.

Filler Picture

Erin Sandknop

esand@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

William Sullivan

LACP Student

wsulliv6@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Laura Sweeney

lsween33@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Dana Watkiss

dwatkiss@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Evan Whalen

ewhalen3@g.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

Tasmia Zaman

tzaman@g.umd.edu